Welcome back

We have a wonderful pediatrician. We met her when Ellie was two weeks old, 4 days after she came home from the NICU. She sees the majority of children in our area with Down Syndrome. She is kind and confident and last year we saw her once a week from that first meeting to Ellie’s heart surgery. She is a doctor who I trust and a person I consider a friend, although I have never seen her outside of her office walls. In July she had a baby, and although I was very excited for her new addition, I was heart broken at the thought of her year long maternity leave, standard in Canada. I felt scared to be without her. She told me when Ellie needed tests, what to look for, she was a reassuring nod when I felt lost. And although we were placed with another doctor while she was away, I knew it wouldn’t be the same. 

We were actually okay without her, not to say I didn’t miss her terribly. Today was our first appointment back with her and I had to stop myself from arriving an hour early for our appointment. It had been almost a year since we last saw her. Ellie walked through the hall and straight to her office and started laughing. The last time we saw her, Ellie’s heart surgery incision was red and tender and now she is walking. It was wonderful to show Ellie off and laugh with an old friend and see baby pictures and at the same time remember how far we’ve come in a year.

With all that, I have to say my favorite part of the appointment was when we left. A girl with Down syndrome who looked to be in her teens was sitting in the waiting room. As our doctor walked us out, I saw a glow come across this girl’s face. She jumped out of her seat and ran towards our doctor. She wrapped her arms around her and started laughing. “Welcome back, welcome back, I missed you, you are a wonderful person, I want to see pictures of your baby, welcome back,” the girl yelled. We were all laughing, even Ellie. I felt like crying, for this girl’s excitement, for a doctor who has such love from her patients, and for the thought that I am lucky enough to be raising a daughter who will grow with so much of that excitement within her DNA. A wonderful day!

  
And a surprise snow storm today which was not welcomed back!

  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome back

  1. Vicki Bartholow says:

    A wonderful segment, Catherine, and a wonderful doctor. I love how her teenage patient greeted her. How very special. That will be Ellie someday. Promise that you will bring Ellie to Dallas someday so that we can all meet her. Xo- VB

    • MyaAndEllie says:

      Thank you Vicki! You will have to meet Ellie for sure, she gives the most amazing hugs, either Dallas or we’ll get over to Maine someday, it may be closer! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

