Happy Valentine’s Day

Last year we took Mya out of school the week before Valentine’s Day. We needed a healthy Ellie for her heart surgery so we decided to quarantine ourselves a month prior to surgery. Looking back, I know it was the right decision and the time Mya was away from school was nothing compared to what she learned through an amazing sacrifice she made for her sister, which is what being a family is all about. However, at the time, I had a really hard time with that decision. And for some reason, the thought that made me the most upset was that she was going to miss spending Valentine’s Day with her school. Her classroom had already been decorated so she knew it was approaching and I pictured all her friends handing out paper cards and glittered bags, while Mya sat at home. She was not upset about missing Valentine’s Day last year, my memories had more of an attachment for me, one she hadn’t created yet, but I couldn’t help but think all this week that this year things were going to be as I had imagined. On Wednesday we made cards for all her classmates and got glitter all over the kitchen (and somehow all over clothes I wasn’t even wearing at the time). On Thursday evening we picked out the perfect outfit for her Valentine’s celebration at school and I kissed her goodnight, feeling warmth in my heart for all that is right in our world right now. Mya returned from school on Friday with a bag full of heart decorated pencils and cards with scribbly writing and hearts that made funny noises and glitter, so much glitter, and we poured them out over my bed and she told me who they were all from. And I relived my elementary school days and I heard her giggle and my cheeks hurt from smiling. I was so upset last year, taking Mya out of school. I never wanted her to miss out on things and grow to resent her sister. As time has the power to transform perspective, I see that everything happened as it should. This year on Valentines Day, Mya has a bag full glittering cards, I have some giggles to keep in my memory box, and Ellie has a perfect heart, which I believe wouldn’t be possible without the love and support of her sister, which, years from now, will mean so much more to Mya than missing one Valentine’s Day with her friends. It’s the moments we have to make choices that force us to realize what is truly important. Happy Valentine’s Day from our family to yours!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. Vicki Bartholow says:

    A belated Happy Valentines Day to you all, too! I love this post. Ellie and Maya continue to delight us all. Thanks for sharing such precious moments. Xo- VB

Leave a comment