Mother’s Day

Happy Mother’s Day! I remember my first Mother’s Day when I was pregnant with Mya, yes I celebrated Mother’s Day when I was pregnant. I feel the true acknowledgement of the sacrifices you make for your children begins when you are pregnant. Travis drove me down to town and we bought hot chocolate and enjoyed a beautiful day in Crested Butte where we were living at the time. I remember being a little scared, I was 30, but still felt 19, I wasn’t sure I was ready to be a mom, not confident I would know what to do. I had read baby books cover to cover like I was studying for an exam, but I still didn’t feel ready. When I first held Mya in my arms, I knew that even if I didn’t always know what to do, if I couldn’t remember everything I’d read, I loved her enough to make up for it. And before Ellie was born I was afraid I wouldn’t have enough love for both my girls, how could I have enough room in my heart, but when I looked into Ellie’s beautiful eyes I found love I didn’t know I had. I truly love being a mom every day, knowing my children exist and that there is nothing I wouldn’t do for them makes me realize why I’m here. So happy Mother’s Day to all the moms for we share a solidarity and we understand what it’s like to find energy at 3am when you didn’t think you had it, to feel the pain of your child deeper than your own when you see them hurting, to smile at your child laughing and feel their warmth within your heart. Happy Mother’s Day to my mom who I am lucky to have spent the day with. It is a wonderful thing, to see your purpose in the face of your children, and I am blessed enough to celebrate that every day.

I spent the day at the beach with my girls and my mom. We ate lays potato chips and orange freezies. Ellie fell asleep in my arms while I watched Mya draw smiley faces in the sand. On the way home Mya sang the entire Frozen soundtrack in the car while Ellie couldn’t take her eyes off her. The only thing that didn’t make the day absolutely perfect was that Travis is at training for work, but I awoke to flowers from him on my kitchen table. All the windows in my house are open as I type and Mya is about to tell me a story about how kangaroos hop. Blessed indeed.

20140511-170522.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mother’s Day

  1. Melissa Bookhout says:

    Happy Mothers Day to you Catherine!

  2. Lydia McCutchen says:

    Happy Mother’s Day…what a wonderful day you had! xoxo

Leave a Reply

